Southwest Division Slate


Geri Gibbs, NCTM, is an independent music teacher, adjudicator, lecturer and church musician. Encouraged by exceptional teachers, she combined her love for music and young people and began teaching. Gibbs has served as local association president, Utah MTA president, Southwest Division Competitions coordinator, Division president and on the MTNA Board of Directors. She has chaired the Independent Music Teacher Forum and served on the Teacher of the Year, Studio Teacher Fellowship, AMT Editorial and Conference Planning committees. “My life has been enriched, and my students have benefitted immeasurably through my service to MTNA. I would be privileged for the opportunity to give back,” she says.



Chyleen Moon Lauritzen, NCTM, is a church choir director and organist who ran an independent piano studio for 24 years. She has completed five levels of Brigham Young University’s organ certification. Lauritzen has served six years as a local association president and recently completed a term as Arizona State MTA president. She has also served MTNA as a committee member for the MarySue Harris Studio Teacher Fellowship Award and presented at both Arizona and Utah state conferences. “MTNA helps the independent studio teacher feel independent, but not alone as it promotes camaraderie and networking opportunities while providing significant resources for continuing education,” she says.


Vote Online Now Download Ballot

Division Slates

MTNA is holding elections for Division Directors-elect who will serve on the Board of Directors during the 2018–2020 Biennium.

Click on a link to view the nominees for each Division.


East Central Division

Eastern Division

Northwest Division

South Central Division

Southern Division

Southwest Division

West Central Division