Eastern Division Slate


Deborah Gers is the principal clarinetist of the Bravura Philharmonic and maintains a private clarinet studio. She has served New Jersey MTA as Instrumental Student Activities director, president, immediate past president and currently as auditor-trustee. Gers also has served as Eastern Division Senior Performance Competitions coordinator and on the MTNA Local Association Grants committee. She was honored as an MTNA Foundation Fellow in 2015. “I am committed to our mission of inclusion to teachers of all instruments so that MTNA continues to grow into a larger and more diverse musical tomorrow. I would be honored to serve as your director-elect,” she says.



Nanette Kaplan Solomon is professor of music emerita from Slippery Rock University. She holds degrees from Yale College, the Yale School of Music and Boston University. Solomon has held leadership positions in Pennsylvania MTA, and served on the AMT Editorial committee and as Eastern Division Collegiate Competitions chair. “MTNA is the premiere organization for the advocacy of excellence in musical arts. While drawing on the traditions of the past, it has always kept its sights on the future. I have cherished the opportunities for professional growth provided by MTNA. I would be honored to continue to serve the organization in this leadership capacity,” she says.


Vote Online Now Download Ballot

Division Slates

MTNA is holding elections for Division Directors-elect who will serve on the Board of Directors during the 2018–2020 Biennium.

Click on a link to view the nominees for each Division.


East Central Division

Eastern Division

Northwest Division

South Central Division

Southern Division

Southwest Division

West Central Division